Celiac Disease Patients Can Consume Hydrolyzed Wheat Flour, Research Shows

Certain types of wheat may be safe for celiac patients

Celiac disease patients should be able to consume food items that contain hydrolyzed wheat flour, a new study explains. The study, found in Clinical Gastroenterology and Hepatology, explains why individuals with this disease, which prevents the ability to digest gluten (found in wheat), may be able to consume wheat flour.

This study is the first of its kind to find a wheat-based product to not be toxic for celiac patients over the course of a 60 day period.

Researchers explain this study could be the building blocks for additional studies helping to reduce potential toxicity of food items containing gluten for celiac patients.

While mainly prevalent in barley and rye, many other products contain gluten as well. Certain medicines, sauces, and salad dressings contain gluten as well.

Many believed celiac disease to be very in the United States, but researchers have discovered that nearly three million people have this disease in the United States alone.

For the study, 16 celiac disease patients between the ages of 12 and 23 years old consumed hydrolyzed wheat products each day and were evaluated by researchers. Every individual was healthy and had been on a gluten-free diet for at least five years. Food items went through a process to reduce gluten concentrations.

Two patients in the study left during the study due to abdominal discomfort. No complaints came from the individuals who consumed primarily hydrolyzed flour products.

Researchers believe this study may improve the processes of baking foods, specifically to account for individuals with celiac disease.